Archive | January 15, 2016

Banana~Coconut Rice Pudding

Oh my I have been making rice puddings and bread puddings since I was 15 years old working in My Father’s Restaurant. Since I grow bananas and coconuts on our land it was easy to come up with this simple, delicious combination years ago. Use the rice of your choice I like a short grain rice, 5 bananas, 1-1/2 cup light cream, 1/4 cup Milk, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, 1/4 cup light brown sugar, 1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract. The coconut we dry and shave and then I roast it on the stove top. You can use (bagged) coconut flakes scant 1/4 cup and toast lightly.

Cook your choice of rice just to al dente. In a mixing bowl add cooked cooled rice, cream, milk, brown sugar, vanilla extract and stir gently to combine. Add bananas into the food processor and let it rip on high to puree. Add pureed bananas into the mixing bowl and stir again. Transfer to a prepared (spray baking dish with your favorite cooking spray) baking dish (9″x12″x3″) smooth out the top, add toasted coconut flakes, cinnamon and nutmeg on top and place covered with aluminum foil into a 350 F hot oven and bake 30 minutes. It will smell wonderful!

I usually serve with a homemade whipped cream but that is optional. We love it serve warm or cold.

Enjoy!

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

The Wiser Cook.