Old Fashioned Apple Pie

win_20160921_15_35_53_pro-2

 

 

 

 

Apple pie is an all around favorite. I use several varieties of apples in this easy to make and bake apple pie. Peel and slice your choice of apples (I use 8 apples), add into a saute pan on very low heat with, 1/2 cup pure apple juice, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, a few pinches of allspice and nutmeg and simmer until apples are tender. Using a 9″ deep dish pre-made frozen pie crust, prick the bottom of crust (once thawed) and bake @ 400 F- for 6 minutes, remove from oven. (Note: I use a Pillsbury tube of dough to roll out and use on the top of pie to then slit open and curl back after filling the shell).

Add apples and mound the center, slit open the pie crust center and curl back dough to expose the center before finishing the baking process. I always place pie on top of a non stick sheet pan and pop into the oven @ 350 for 30 minutes.

Add ice cream and dig in.

Yum-ooooooooooooooooooo.

Enjoy!

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

The Wiser Cook.

8 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Apple Pie

  1. OMG, I wish I had seen this before I put a homemade apple pie in the oven tonight to leave for my daughter to eat before we leave for vacay tomorrow for a week (breakfast, lunch, snack, whatever), she’s staying home for school and to care for the dogs). I did the long baking-time way. Great tip, thanks CCC! xoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea here. I think I’ve always done it the hard way, mainly because that’s the way I learned to make pie. Usually just add a lattice crust on top, though, because I’m not great with pie crust. Love the look, Cuz.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

