Pulled Pork Sandwiches

WIN_20160305_09_53_06_Pro (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We just love pulled pork slow roasted in the slow cooker, it is so juicy and tender! I make several meals from one Pork Butt Roast. Of course sandwiches are always fun on a weeknight.

I get a 5-7 pound Pork Butt Roast from my Butcher/Market season it with salt and black pepper, cumin, onion powder, rub the seasoning well into the pork roast and place into the slow cooker. I add 2 cups vegetable stock (low sodium), one whole onion (peeled), one bay leaf, cover with the lid and let it cook for 4 hours on medium heat. In the meantime I make a homemade BBQ sauce. In a saucepan add 1-1/2 cups ketchup, 2 tablespoons mustard, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 2 tablespoons Pure Honey and cook sauce on low/medium heat for 7 minutes and stir until well combined. Pour that over the pork in the slow cooker and let it cook 2 more hours. Remove from slow cooker and using two forks shred the pork (tender and juicy). I remove the whole soft onion-I use that for flavor and bay leaf before shredding pork. 

I like to use our local bakery for fresh rolls/buns-choose your favorite and enjoy!

I will always add a cold salad (zucchini cut wedges or cucumber, tomatoes, sliced red onion and a light vinaigrette dressing) to accompany pork sandwiches, sometimes I make coleslaw or potato salad, any one goes with them. Choose your favorite side dishes.

Hope you enjoy!

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks”Wiser.

The Wiser Cook.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

