Caprese Salad with Bacon

This salad is such a traditional one that is so popular. Easy to prepare. I use a fresh ball of mozzarella cheese and slice it. I will use fresh basil from my herb garden, sliced heirloom tomatoes, and crispy bacon cut into pieces with a light aged balsamic vinegar, a drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil. It has become a favorite in my household. Goes with almost any entrée and is refreshing.

I normally serve it on a large platter by layering one mozzarella slice, tomatoes slice, in between the mozzarella/tomato I add fresh basil. I do two to three rows, sprinkle bacon pieces over the platter and add vinegar and drizzling of Olive Oil, salt and black pepper, to taste.

You can serve immediately which I find the best way. Just prepare it and you are ready to dig in. Be sure to have some Italian sliced bread and soft butter to accompany this salad! I’ve been known to add jumbo green and black olives to the platter as well!

Make it your own, share and enjoy!

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

The Wiser Cook.

11 thoughts on “Caprese Salad with Bacon

Leave a Reply

