Creamed Baby Peas-Pearl Onions-Bacon

We love vegetables and every evening there is one or two dishes on our supper table. Our produce market carries the freshest produce around. On Wednesday’s I shop all specialty markets as well as 2 major grocery stores. One of my favorite stops (next to the Seafood Market) is the produce market. The other week I picked up fresh baby peas still in the pods) I removed the baby peas from the pods.

We love pearl onions and I buy them frozen (in 8 ounce bags) at my favorite grocery store. On an average weekly I purchase 4-5 twelve ounce boxes of pre-cooked bacon. I use bacon in many weekly recipes and frankly I like the ease of using the pre-cooked Oscar Meyer Brand as opposed to the mess cooking/baking bacon makes!!!

This side dish is a family favorite. In a pot of salted boiling water add your baby peas and cook 4 minutes. I use a strainer to carefully remove peas from cooking water and add them into a bowl. In a saute pan I add 2 tablespoons of sweet cream butter once melted add 1 teaspoon of flour (creating a roux) then add 1/4 cup light cream and stir well on low heat. The bacon, I microwave just a few minutes and cut into small pieces (I use about 8 slices). I add the pearl onions (from the 8 ounce bag-I’ll use half-thawed) into the saute pan and stir gently, allow to cook 2-3 minutes, add in peas, then add in the bacon pieces, stir gently again and cook 1-2 minutes and its ready to transfer into a serving bowl. Salt and pepper, to taste.

Give this combination a try, it will really surprise you how delicious it is and simple.

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

The Wiser Cook.

2 thoughts on “Creamed Baby Peas-Pearl Onions-Bacon

Leave a Reply

